CIT International Conference
Join CIT International in Chicago as they host the 2016 International Conference April 25-27, 2016. Click here for a "Save the Date" brochure.
Lead Homicide Investigator (LHI) Recertification Process
All Lead Homicide Investigators certified by the Training Board are required to obtain 32 hours of approved in service training in a 4 year period from the date of their certification. Agencies with Lead Homicide Investigators will receive a letter from the Board that directs you to verify the training for each Lead Homicide Investigator as the end of the 4 year period approaches. A copy of the recertification form can be found HERE.
The Training Board has approved many in-service courses for LHI certificate renewal that have been delivered through the Board’s Mobile Training Units. The list is updated every 3 months after new courses are approved at the Board’s quarterly meeting. A list of the currently approved courses is available HERE (regularly updated).
Other courses not included in this list may be approved on a case-by-case basis. In these cases, the applicant will have to provide a certificate of attendance which states the organization offering the course, course location, title, dates of training and hours of training. The Board will also have to review a course outline in order to approve the course. All paperwork should then be submitted to the Board.
It is suggested that agencies submit their Lead Homicide Investigator’s recertification paperwork no sooner than 6 months and no later than 3 months prior to the end of the 4th year.
County Probation Officers Mandatory Firearms Training
The Board will be providing the 40-hour Mandatory Firearms Training to approved County Probation Officers per P.A. 098-0725. In order to be approved for such training, the Chief Judge of the Judicial Circuit must designate each officer to be authorized to carry a firearms and eligible to attend the MFT. A letter outlining the procedure to follow can be found HERE.
2015 Quarterly Meetings
||Abe Lincoln Hotel
Narcotic Detection Canine Initial and Annual Reporting Requirements
P.A. 97-0469 (50 ILCS 705/10.12) amended the Police Training Act to require that “police dogs used by State and local law enforcement agencies for drug enforcement purposes…” be trained to meet the “minimum certification requirements” set by the Training Board. These standards were developed based upon the SWGDOG Guidelines. The Training Board’s “minimum certification requirements” can be found here.
ATTENTION VETERANS INTERESTED IN ILLINOIS LAW ENFORCEMENT
The Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board has partnered with the Southwestern Illinois College Police Academy to offer an Internship program. If you would be interested, please click HERE.
Electronic Control Device (ECD) Random Inspection
Pursuant to P.A. 098-0358
In accordance with 50 ILCS 705/10.14(b), the Training Board has been tasked with conducting random inspections of agencies deploying ECDs to determine whether the officers receive appropriate training in their use. The Board is then tasked to compile the results, analyze them and report to the Governor and the General Assembly on or before June 30, 2016.
The Board has tentatively defined “appropriate training” for the officer deploying the ECD as (1) initial training on the ECD following the manufacturer’s recommendation, (2) in-house training on the agency’s Use of Force policy involving the ECD, and (3) annual refresher training both to the manufacturer’s recommendations and on the department’s Use of Force policy involving the ECD. Such training should be documented within the agency’s training files.
Board staff will contact an agency head whose agency has been selected for a random inspection. It is anticipated that several hundred departments will be chosen over the timeframe stipulated by statute.
FIREARMS CONCEALED CARRY TRAINING ACT
The Board has worked with both the Basic Law Enforcement academies and the MTUs to develop training on the Concealed Carry Act. As of 2014, recruit officers receive training on concealed carry through the academies. Agencies are strongly encouraged to send their current officers to training offered by the MTUs. Policy development is the responsibility of each agency.
FURTHER INFORMATION RELATED TO THE CONCEALED CARRY LAW
The Illinois State Police has the primary responsibility of implementation of the Illinois Concealed Carry law and information can be found on their website (http://www.isp.state.il.us).
FAQ related to the Concealed Carry law (P.A. 98-0063)
The Illinois State Police, who has the primary responsibility of implementation of the Illinois Concealed Carry law, have posted answers to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) on their website. Updates are posted as needed.
Please note the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board is not involved in any part of the implementation of this law. In-service and basic training for local law enforcement officers will be forthcoming from the Mobile Training Units and Basic Law Enforcement academies.
TRAINING STANDARDS FOR COUNTY CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS WORKING IN JUVENILE DETENTION HOMES
At the Quarterly Board meeting in Chicago on December 12th, 2013, the Board approved minimum training standards for county correctional officers who work at county juvenile detention homes. For further information, please click HERE.
ANIMAL ABUSE AND CRUELTY; CANINE BEHAVIOR AND OFFICER RESPONSE TRAINING STANDARDS
On December 12th, 2013, pursuant to the requirement of P.A. 098-0311, the Board has approved the training standards for Animal Abuse and Cruelty; Canine Behavior and Officer Response courses. The standard will be shared with Basic Law Enforcement academies and MTUs. Click HERE to obtain the standards.
"USE OF FORCE" BROCHURES
The Training Board has developed a Use of Force brochures for all agencies use during the annual firearms qualification of your active officers.
An electronic version is available here.
If you have any questions, please email Cora Beem at firstname.lastname@example.org.
BASIC ARSON INVESTIGATOR COURSE
SWIC is currently the Board’s provider for the Board-certified, OSFM-approved 200-hour Basic Arson Investigator course. The course is open to any paid FF II, with fire chief’s consent, and who has completed IFSI’s Modules I and II.
For further information, please check SWICís website at www.southwesternpoliceacademy.com.
80 Hour Transition Course
The 80-hour Transition course was developed to bridge a part-time law enforcement officer who has successfully completed the part-time training program and passed that certification exam into a full time law enforcement position. This course is offered by SWIC - check their website (www.southwesternpoliceacademy.com) for more information.
PART-TIME ORDINANCE SAMPLE
Our Part-time ordinance sample is available here in PDF or MS-WORD.
LEAD HOMICIDE INVESTIGATOR CERTIFICATION
50 ILCS 705/10.11 (Effective: January 2012)
At the March 3rd, 2011 Quarterly Board meeting, the Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board approved the Lead Homicide Investigator Training. For specifics on the training, please follow the following link:Memorandum regarding implementation.
After the officer has attained certification, to maintain a current certificate, the Lead Homicide Investigator must attend 32 hours of Board-approved lead homicide investigator in-service training within a 4 year period after certification. For further information on In-service training, please follow the following link: LHI Recertification Information.
For more information of Lead Homicide Investigator certification and maintenance please see our FAQ section.
Information on Private Auxiliary/Reserve Police Organizations
The Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board, in cooperation with the U.S. Marshals Service, Northern District of Illinois, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Illinois State Police, is conducting an investigation into non-governmental, legally unrecognized, and unauthorized "auxiliary/reserve police organizations" offering "police assistance, services, and employees" to county and local police agencies. Certain illicit organizations have been successful in convincing law enforcement agencies that they are legitimate. These organizations have also attempted to create an appearance of authority through financial records and other "legal" documents to avoid constitutional requirements establishing real law enforcement authority for the use of police powers. Since this Board is responsible for the certification of all law enforcement personnel in the State of Illinois, we wanted you to be aware of this situation in order to avoid jeopardizing the safety and security of your community.
Please see the following for more information: Letter from Director Kevin T. McClain, Opinion of Lisa Madigan, Attorney General
Annual Police Chief/Deputy Police Chief Training Hours Public Act 94-354
Please complete the training form which may be located on the ILETSB website with at least a minimum of 20 hours training to the Training Board office. Chiefs/Deputy Chiefs are required to submit mandated training hours annually on a calendar year basis according to P.A. 94-354.
To record your training hours on the appropriate form, please click here.
CRISIS INTERVENTION TEAM (CIT) TRAINING OPPORTUNITIES
Since 2003, the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board (ILETSB) has provided state-certified Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) training to law enforcement officers throughout Illinois. Participants of this one week / 40 hour block of instruction receive intensive training on dealing with individuals in the community who have a mental illness. To date, the ILETSB has certified over 3,100 officers statewide, from more than 250 agencies in this specialized program.
To find out more about the CIT program or to enroll in an upcoming course, please follow the links below:
Upcoming Training :
FY15 CIT Training Opportunities
For general information on the CIT program, please contact Jennifer Wooldridge, ILETSB’s Manager of Operations at: Jennifer.Wooldridge@illinois.gov